Consumer Reports
Read current and past issues of Consumer Reports – anytime, anywhere. Consumer Reports is a nonprofit organization that provides unbiased reports on a variety of products to help you make better, more informed purchasing decisions. Includes product ratings and reviews, recall, and safety information.
Genealogy: Ancestry.com
Library users can access Ancestry.com only at the Oradell Public Library. The genealogical database can be accessed using public access computers located on the main floor and lower level.
In addition to indexing vital records like birth, marriage and death, census and voter lists, and immigration and travel documents, the database can search New York, Boston, New Orleans, and Philadelphia passenger lists from 1800-1945, WWI draft registration cards, French, German and Austrian concentration camp records, military photographs, slave manifests, Hispanic surnames, U. S. veterans grave sites, and U. S. school yearbooks.
Also downloadable family tree forms and ancestral charts are available to help amateur genealogists organize their family histories. Library users are welcome to contact Orla Cassidy, Adult Services Librarian for individualized instruction at 201-262-2613.
Genealogy: HeritageQuest
A genealogy tool, which provides:
- Essential collection of genealogical & historical sources
- U.S. Federal Censuses, books, bank records
- Unique primary sources, local & family histories
Mango Languages
Mango is a personalized, adaptive language-learning experience that provides the tools and guidance you need to expand your language skills wherever and however you learn best.
Choose from over 70 world languages on desktop or mobile, from anywhere, at any time, including English as a Second Language. Enjoy native speaker audio and cultural context that will fully immerse you in the language.
You can also use Mango to learn American Sign Language (ASL)! Launch lessons right from the Mango app and get started by modeling native ASL signers.
All you need is an Oradell Library card to get started. Create an account online and learn on your computer or mobile device with the Mango Languages app.
Learn any (or many!) languages for free by clicking below.
NoveList
An online reader’s advisory tool which allows readers to use a favorite author or title as a template to locate other authors and titles of interest. Readers may also look for books by entering descriptive terms that appear in subject headings, reviews, and other fields in the title records. Users can browse theme-oriented book lists at every reading level and look for outstanding titles. Besides locating books to read, users can learn more about books and authors through Feature Articles, Book Discussion Guides, and BookTalks.
Peterson’s Test and Career Prep
Search thousands of college and graduate schools, identify scholarships, take practice tests, create resumes, and explore careers.
Reference Solutions
Seminar Recordings
FREE recorded seminar on the the benefits of reference USA.
Business Expansion
Jobs & Internships
This program was co-sponsored by the New Milford Public Library, Oradell Public Library, and River Edge Public Library.
Reference USA, now known as Reference Solutions, is the premier source of information for reference and research offering accurate data of 58 million businesses and 317 million consumers available free with your library card!
More Research Tools
Explore a whole host of information with Jersey Clicks, including access full-text articles in academic and business databases. The New Jersey State Library provides access to JerseyClicks databases.